Tweed’s Pub – #37 on the Tour

The Bar: Tweed’s

The Address 229 Grove Street

The Day and the TIme Monday at 8:45

The price 6.95 (The print out said it was a 6.50 drink with 45 cents for the man)

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime No, he just put it in

What was the type of gin House, by request

What was the gin and tonic like. Is gin lighter than tonic? I don’t know much about bar physics. But this was one of those drinks that had more of a gin taste on top than it did on the bottom and I don’t think that it had to do with the ice melting (at least, not a lot) It was harsh to start and then got alright. Like one of those layered drinks they say is soooooo easy to do at home, yeah right. the gin and tonic certainly didn’t impress me for a drink on the pricey end of the scale.

The Joint This is a restaurant with a large bar. The bar was a long thin oval and the bartender had a lot of real estate to contend with, he did fine. There were 10 or 12 at the bar when I got there, but petered out as I went along, just like my drink.  It had sports on the tvs. He had tired waitresses wandering to the bar, cashing out.

I am getting to the end of the neighborhood and dive bar part of the tour (though some are still waiting for me) and now we turn the corner to bar-restaurants. There seems to be people who make these bar stools their own, so it is still a valid leg of the tour, but the feel is different. People are eating and  talking, there are dates going on, there is bad day at the office wind downs. It just feels like I am on a different tour now, not bad, just different. The waitresses looked tired, so did the place.

General Impressions It was mostly folks talking among themselves. I watched some baseball while trying to listen to what I think was two young people having a date, or it was two friends out for a drink with one of them (the guy) hoping for a little bit more. They talked about missing college, one talked about the lousy job he had at his father’s company. She talked about how she had to focus in life. Why do I think this was a date like thing? They both had the same colorful mixed drink. I guess that might be adorable when you are young and in lust, having the same drink, but as you get older and you want what you want and the hell with fruity drinks with umbrellas (for me, I will have a gin and tonic, thank you). I wanted to go over to the guy, when they ordered their second fruity concoction, and tell him no! No! don’t do it, have your own taste, that is more attractive in the long run. Have a beer for god’s sake. Get a whiskey neat! Do it, buddy. But of course I left before the end of the evening for those two was decided.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 or 20 minutes

Will I come back No. The place didn’t appeal to me too much. It wasn’t a bad place, just didn’t excite me. All that wood and old feel. I was happy to check out a place I have never been, but if I ever came back it might be to try the food, not to settle down on a bar stool.

 

Leave a Reply

