Loft 266 – #42 on the Tour

The Bar: Loft 266

The Address 266 Park Ave

The Day and the TIme Friday at 8

The price 5

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime No, I just got one

What was the type of gin It was well gin

What was the gin and tonic like It was alright, just alright.

The Joint This used to be many things, but I remember from years back it being the Above Club. What a sad place I remember that being. No one there, ever. Its on a second floor and now its very schmancy. The center of the space is the bar and two women were tending, they were wearing black. I need to tell you this, because I was the only one not wearing black in the place. There were 10 people there and I had a red shirt on, I felt like an unbeliever to a cult I forgot to join. Black never goes out of style, but that’s the kind of place this, stylish, baby. Okay, just a little bit sarcastic. A guy was in the corner with a guitar singing songs, I didn’t recognize them so they were either originals or I should branch out from listening to the all Gregorian Chants station on my radio. He was fine and had a decent voice, he was the guy you talked over to have a conversation. Folks were having food, and they kept on coming in while I was there. All in black shirts (did I miss something in the invitation?) The place is clean and shiny. It has cool cat ambience. But to me, I didn’t buy it.

General Impressions A group were talking at the end of the bar about working at the DCU Center and how there is nothing booked in the summer. Others were gathering to check folk out or be checked. The people coming in were well put together. The evening might have turned into a raucous bacchanal, with hook ups happening and glances gazed at. I couldn’t shake how pre-fab, how constructed this place was. There was nothing organic here. I was sitting in a piece of marketing. But then my drink was done and so was I.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back No, I’m fine and have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

