The Blarney Stone – #47 on the Tour

The Bar: The Blarney Stone

The Address 79 Maywood Street

The Day and the TIme Friday at 3:45

The price 3 dollars

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime No, he just put it in

What was the type of gin It was industrial strength jet fuel. Yeesh

What was the gin and tonic like Well this one tasted of gin I can tell you. The bar I went to before, the Canal Bar and Grill, I was not sure if I got any alcohol. This one left little doubt. I like a bar that doesn’t have time for subtlety.

The Joint Surprisingly roomy. The bar took up the center, though there was plenty of room around it. There were darts and games and what not. There was keno and sports. There was a taped paper saying that they had jello shots, as well as other oddly named concoctions that you can partake in a shot glass. It was a bar. It had 10 or so guys, probably just off of jobs. They had muscles and sleeves of tattoos. They swore a lot. The word fuck was the secret ingredient for this episode.

General Impressions Thank goodness for this place. For a stretch, I have had lame and dull experiences on this tour. I wasn’t going to give it up, but I was wondering if I was ever to speak highly of a bar again. This felt like a bar. It acted like one too. The guys were loud and happy to be there. The bartender was chatting with regulars. People were drinking affordable beers and shots. They were bunkering down for a long night of it. I had almost forgotten this flushed camaraderie that bars can have. In my work clothes, I certainly stuck out, but there was no problem with that. I was just another person looking to have a drink, maybe play some keno.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back Probably not, but man, I am happy to have gotten here when I did. I needed this dose of bar-ness that the Blarney Stone had.

Leave a Reply

