Compass Tavern – #53 on the Tour

The Bar: The Compass Tavern

The Address 90 Harding Street

The Day and the TIme Friday at four

The price 5.50

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She just put it in, I like this trend.

What was the type of gin Well

What was the gin and tonic like Kind of like the bar, not too bad but slightly generic.

The Joint This used to be a big ass Italian restaurant, and then a big Barbeque restaurant, now it is two bar areas. One has a clubby feel, the other a hyper extended Irish bar. Both felt a little set decorated, but still, friendly staff, and space to breathe in, way too much space to breathe, I was feeling light headed.

The bar was only two weeks past opening when I got there, so I hope it finds its people. Find those who want to call this home. At that moment, there was me and about five guys who knocked off work early. You can’t make a homefront out of folk like us, but its a start.

General Impressions Oh, the dread of trying to get a sense of a place when it is empty. I don’t know, its two large rooms. In the larger one, the bar is huge. Good luck to the bartender running around if it gets busy. This place is designed to be busy, it doesn’t feel right when it is just you and five other people. Its like you are in a airplane hanger with a liquor license when its empty. When it is full, maybe it will have something fun. I am sure it would be loud. Its funny, I don’t think I would enjoy myself if this place was packed, but I also felt it was pretty lonely and not too comforting with it quiet. Ah well, the great conundrum of this exercise.

I felt lonely. I wanted to see people. I wanted something to occur. I am sure that it would, but I was moving on.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back:I think no. Even if it was busy and filled, the place is so big that there would be no room to move and that would be its own problem as well. But I don’t know. I mean this place is brand new, infant pink and unfinished. Maybe it will turn into something great and unforgettable. Maybe. Here’s hoping.

Leave a Reply

