7 NaNa – #58 on the Tour

The Bar: 7NaNa Japanese Steakhouse

The Address 60 Shrewsbury Street

The Day and the TIme Friday at 10pm. And yet, I still missed the party. When I came in the hibachi chefs were cleaning all their stations and what was left were people in the main front room at the bar and four or five of the outlying tables.

The price Nine dollars. Then with charged tax it was 9.60. Then we had to leave a tip. I should stop saying what the most expensive gin and tonic will be, I mean I still have a score or so of bars to visit on Shrewsbury Street and that restaurant row is going to surprise me with the exponential nature of pricing, I think.

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime No. I got one though.

What was the type of gin I asked for the basic and she said “Tanqueray” and I nodded. Who I am to doubt the acumen of alcohol technicians?

What was the gin and tonic like: For the most expensive gin and tonic (for now) on this tour, it was kind of light of flavor, and when I went to the bathroom and came back two minutes later they had already cleared my drink, which was half filled. I saw it on the well and asked, is that my drink. I got it back and it had watered down to no flavor in just those two minutes. How is that possible?

The Joint Let me be blunt. I knew I didn’t like the look of the place as soon as I approached the bar stools. The place is attempting a high end ultra modern look and esthetic with high ceiling, indirect lighting and a huge glass bead chandelier over the large oval bar. Actually the chandelier reminded me of the fringe on a go-go dancer. (“Attack of the 50 Foot Go-Go Girl!!!! The Thrills! The Chills! The Maki Rolls!”) They have large hibachi rooms in the back and a sushi chef working the side of the bar. I approached the bar stool and saw that it was worn and some of the fake leather of the seat was gone. I looked around  and all the other stools I looked at were similarly worn. So you have a swank place with last year’s stools. Its like a dowager getting her fifth face lift and two months later already getting new wrinkle lines. Friends, the stools at some of the dive bars I have been to, like the Nines or even Pleasant Cafe, were in the same shape if not a little better. And I paid a hell of a lot less for my opportunity to sit there at their bar.

General Impressions Couples were having drinks and food in amorphous dishes. One couple were bravely having a scorpion bowl with neon shaded three foot straws. Three folk at a table took a selfie of themselves. The bartender had a friend at the bar and that was her focus. He received the bulk of the conversation and her attention. I was not asked if I wanted anything else. But of course, I went to the bathroom and they took my drink away, so I think they were happy I didn’t stay any longer than I did. I am sure the food is nice. I am sure the prices are insane. I am sure the staff would be friendlier if I came in with an expense account.

Amount of Time in the Joint 10 minutes

Will I come back (SIng it with me now) Na-na-na-na Na-na-na-na Hey Hey Hey No way!

 

Leave a Reply

