Bennie’s Bar and Grill – #59 on the Tour

The Bar: Bennie’s

The Address 13 East Mountain Road. This is off of West Boylston Street, not far from the Worcester North Movie Theater and the 99 and the Community College. I don’t know, I just want to put it in its place. Its one of those little known bars, that I figured I might want to give you an idea of its location.

The Day and the TIme Sunday at 5. It was a game day, but the Patriots had already finished the game and their opponent. So the mood was high and airy.

The price 6

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She did and I got it

What was the type of gin It was well gin

What was the gin and tonic like It was a little harsh, but I liked it. Go figure. I like the bar and I tend to like the drink. You don’t need deep psychological knowledge to suss that out.

The Joint A narrow place that is divided in two, with a bar on one side and tables on the other. The bar is just a long lunch counter with a classic old bar railing in front of it, it does look a little odd having a bar staple attached to a formica counter, but hey, that’s what this place is, you got a problem with that, go somewhere else buddy-o. What I really like about the layout is that the grill part is just the front part of the bar area, right by the window. There is a microwave and a grill and a place to make sandwiches. That is all. The menu is based on things that can be made there. I love it, so old school. Burger and a beer joint. And sports. The place is about those three things, at least for my visit. It is an older crowd, all talking and discussing football. They kind of all know each other, but that’s not to say the place was exclusionary. There were a bunch of flat screens above the bar that played the games. It all felt like a lunch counter from an old movie, I liked the feel. On the other side, people were ordering and eating burgers. I think they could see the tvs as well, so no one was left out of the fun.

General Impressions There is something quite nice about a place where people know that this is their kind of place. You of a certain age and want a no fuss place for some drinks and some grub? Well this is the place for you, welcome. You like sports? Bonus! I am not quite sure how it works that this is a bar for older sports fans while others places will be for the younger sports freaks. I am not quite sure how that self-selection works, but people go to where they are most comfortable and this joint is definetly old school, hence the old school clientele. But you don’t need your AARP card to come in, its here and happy to help. Okay, I like these throw back places, sue me.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes.

Will I come back I don’t know, I am not in that area often. But I liked it. I liked leaning on a lunch counter with a drink to watch the game, knowing I can get a burger. Knowing that if I had an obscure question about a Pats game from 18 years ago, the fella next to me would have the answer, or at least give a decent bullshit response. Who can ask for more?

Leave a Reply

