Birkbeck’s Waterfront Grill- #61 on the Tour

The Bar: Birkbeck’s Waterfront Grill

The Address 242 Mill Street

The Day and the TIme Friday after Thanksgiving at 8:45

The price 5 bucks (but I don’t know if that’s what it will say at)

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime No, it just came with it, like peanut butter and jelly, like ham and eggs, like Cagney and Lacey (they just are inseparable.)

What was the type of gin Well

What was the gin and tonic like: It was a fine sweet gin and tonic. Nothing special, but fine.

The Story: I was driving around, looking for a place to go, because the place I intended on going to was open, but no one was in, not even staff. There was a big open sign all red neon and there were lights on and a sense of bar ready, just add people, and bartenders. I didn’t know what to do about that, so I left without evening trying the door (more on that place another time) and got in my car and saw this place. This used to be a few other restaurants right on the lake. It was Joey’s, and then it was Lago’s and then when that placed was forced to close, it has been empty for something like two years. Good to have something there. I saw lights on, I saw people at the bar. I went in and I could tell that something was off. Not bad, but off. What I mean is that there was no one in the dining area, only the bar and the kitchen looked unused. Almost unfinished. Not all the shelves on the bar were filled with glasses or bottles.  There were some holes in the walls. It felt like the paint was still wet on the High School Play sets. There were about 10 or so people there. All talking to the bartender. One group of three guys were loudly talking near me, which makes it a bar. One of the them seemed to be trying to leave the entire time I was there (he never did).

The bartender came over and asked how I came here. I said I saw the lights and decided to try it. He told me that they just had a soft opening two days ago and right now they only have drinks, five dollars a drink, cash only. I complied, which is also why I think if you come back to this place the drinks might not be that price. I liked the place from what I could imagine when it was finished and full of folk. My one complaint is that the bar was sparkly, there was some kind of shiny stone thing going on I think. It was the glitter bar. The picture I posted is from a search of the former iteration, Lago’s and the place looks very similar. The lights and the set up seem identical. If it ain’t broke…..

Now I don’t know if this is going to be an awesome place (the location is great) but I won’t be checking it out for another review. This is not the way to be a bar reviewer, but I am not a reviewer, just a tourist. I got my gin and tonic, and that’s all that matters to this endeavor. It is a strange list of activities I set out for myself, but that’s what I created. Who did I see here, friends of the owner, people who want a bar in the area. I wish it well, I hope it all goes off they way they want it to.

Leave a Reply

