Pepe’s – #70 on the Tour

The Bar: Pepe’s

The Address 274 Franklin Street

The Day and the TIme Friday around eight thirty.

The price Six bucks

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She just put it in.

What was the type of gin It was well.

What was the gin and tonic like A little flavorless. It was fine. I liked the wide bar and the comfort of it, and that certainly helped with my enjoying the drink.

The Joint Its a big old room of an Italian joint with a good sized bar. Friendly and brightly lit. There was exposed bricks but there was Digital TVs too. I don’t know, but I wouldn’t mind a bar without three or four TVs going, ready to be seen by anyone’s eyeline. I know, Luddite Dante, this is the way. Even restaurants have to have the sports going at all times. There was a huge family that took up most of the tables into one large table. About 20 or so. A couple of 10 year old boys wandered around, bored with all the familial congeniality (which is how the ten year old boys would put, those loquacious little scamps.) Most of them had togo pizza boxes in front of them. It was a nice warm joint, I could see people coming in after work for a couple beers and maybe an appetizer. I have been thinking that some restaurants with liquor licenses are not really bars, that bars need people to want to settle in and spend some time at that long plank of wood, and this place fits that (more about this when I write up about Sweet and The Fixx)

General Impressions A nice place, the pizza looked good. Though I know no one who has eaten here, so I don’t know how it is. I watched the large family party leaving, it took up almost my entire time at the bar. Everyone had to go around the table and hug the next person they came across and say how great it was to see them and don’t be a stranger, and then they were on to the next person to say farewell to. It was like the Stations of the Cross, with leftovers. One guy had his girlfriend with him, she not knowing anyone, and yet she found herself hugged a lot by relatives or her boyfriend. The first time I saw it happen I watched her eyes bulge in surprise, it being a sneak attack hug from a little woman who didn’t seem to have it in her. By the third time she was hugged, she was cool with it, with a smile and a hug back, she was turning into a family reunion veteran.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 or 20 minutes

Will I come back I don’t think this is fair because I read in Pulse that Pepe’s is moving. That’s how I first heard about Pepe’s. So how will it be in the new joint? It could be the same, it could be better, or it could be that all the energy of the place might not have made the move. Who knows. Where it is now, I think its a nice decent place. I might go back, if the are still there.

Leave a Reply

