The Fix – #72 on the Tour

The Bar: The Fix

The Address 166 Shrewsbury Street

The Day and the TIme Friday at 9:20

The price Eight bucks

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She just put it in.

What was the type of gin I had a sip and was impressed and asked the bartender what it was and she said it was a Small Batch gin called Journeyman Bilberry Black Hearts Gin. They use Journeyman distillery as their basic liquor. I get a chuckle over the use of small batch. Its the “Organic” “Farm to table” “hormone free” for the booze world. Now I could be told that Gilbert’s Gin is made in small batch, its still lousy syrupy swill.

What was the gin and tonic like Hands down, this was the best gin and tonic I have had during this tour. It was delicious. It had good flavor, it was the right combo of tonic to gin, it was a hell of a drink, and I was so happy. The bartender told me that they always use Fever Tree tonic water, which is very popular in Europe (hey, I do my research). Now my friend Epicurean Eric reported to me that he went here and he was asked if he wanted their homemade tonic, he did and he thought it strange. I was not offered that, I was just given their standard eight buck gin and tonic. Which was Journeyman Bilberry Gin and Fever Tree tonic. This was good.

The Joint This was the location for the Niche Group’s Mezcal Cafe, but that moved and now they put in a burger joint. It still has the small bar and small eating area. It is kind of bland in the land of decoration, though they have some crazy Chalk drawing, but its a burger joint, you are there for the burgers not for wall hangings. You can also be there for good drinks, as I said.

General Impressions With the best gin and tonic of the tour, I must say that I was disappointed by the time I was here. Though there is a metal table where people can sit and eat and drink, this place is not a bar. Its just a restaurant with booze. There was no sense of community or comfort in the bar area. I wanted to talk to people about how good my drink was, but I was alone, even the friendly bartender who told me about my drink was gone, off shift I guess. She was replaced by another bartender looking at the clock, waiting for the day to end. Ultimately the Fix is a restaurant, that’s what they want to be, but the bar is just a place to mix nice drinks. It taks more than stools and a flat surface to make a bar. You need people invested in spending time in that space. Hell, the bartenders split fact too. Pity. Almost a waste of a killer drink.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back Yes. People tell me the food is great. I can tell you they care about their spirits. But don’t go to the bar thinking you will have a fun relaxing time. Go to a table. Get some food. Get some drinks. Go somewhere else if you want a bar. The funny thing about the Niche Group is that I went to two of their other properties that are more like bars: Still and Stir and it had gin and tonic that was inferior to the one at their Burger Restaurant. Its odd, but true.

Leave a Reply

