La Scala – #79 on the Tour

The Bar La Scala

The Address 183 Shrewsbury Street

The Day and the TIme Saturday at 12:30 in the afternoon

The price Eight Dollars

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime He just put it in

What was the type of gin Tanqueray. Lovely.

What was the gin and tonic like It was good, I like Tanqueray. The bartender did have difficulty finding the button on the tap that would give tonic. Part of my was afraid he would pick the wrong button, that I would get gin and coca-cola. Which I have had before, and really rather not have again.

The Joint This is a small Italian joint on Shrewsbury street that seems to hide everytime I come in the area. I always forget about  it. It has been around for years, but it doesn’t stick. The place is small but comfortable. A medium sized bar. There was just me and another couple at the bar. They were having lunch, which was sandwiches. The sign outside did say they had Tripe on the menu. How cool, a place proudly selling tripe. I won’t eat tripe, but its the kind of place I want to hang out in, Tripe Friendly Locations.

General Impressions The couple were watching a program focusing on the wonderful life of professional athletes, you know, true to life stuff. They ate their sandwiches. They lingered. They talked to the handsome young bartender. It was a cold Saturday, people were very relaxed, and the tripe was waiting in the back, for its time to at last to come. Time to shine little Tripelette, time to shine.

Amount of Time in the Joint 10 minutes

Will I come back Maybe. It has the feel of a nice hole in the wall Italian place where the food is the star. Its a place I can see you sitting down at the bar for lunch and maybe a beer. I can think of worse places to do such a thing.

Leave a Reply

