Brew City – #85 on the Tour

 

The Bar Brew City

The Address 104 Shrewsbury Street

The Day and the Time Sunday at 2:30 on Super Bowl Sunday

The price 5.62, without tax it was five and a quarter.

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She did.

What was the type of gin It was well. I could tell by that cloying syrupy taste that it was my old nemesis Gibson’s Gin. What does that say about this tour that I now can identify rot gut booze at twenty paces? Its a dubious skill at best.

What was the gin and tonic like Like all Gibson gin and tonics, it was work, baby. It was work.

The Joint  This has been around on Shrewsbury street for a while and I have been to eat here twice quite some time ago. I thought it was okay, and I remember the fries being good, but I never felt the need to return. On going in this time, I am struck once again about how weird their front door is. Its not on Shrewsbury street. Its in the back parking lot. It always feels odd when that happens. I want to go in from the street, but no, walk to the parking lot little Dante.

There is a nice sized dining area and they also have a separate bar area that was probably designed when you could still smoke in bars. This is nice in that it feels like a bar first and a restaurant second. The bar area has exposed brick and large area to drink, as well as tables. There were a few folk there, getting ready for the Super Bowl. People were talking sports and local politics, but it was not a loud place. Folks were eating, Beers were drawn. Things were moving along. The bartender was good and attentive. Always a nice thing

General Impressions Its a sports bar. It was good. It was alright. I liked it. I felt comfortable being there, but that’s about it. I was not excited about it. It was a good middle of the road place, but it didn’t do much than make it a good place to have a beer and leave. There is nothing wrong with it, from my time there. It didn’t wow me. Later that day someone asked me about the tour and I said, “I went to Brew City. Its very sports bar. I liked it.” And then I shrugged.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back Maybe. If friends want to go, I will go.

Leave a Reply

