Shangri-La – #88 on the Tour

The Bar Shangri La

The Address 50 Front Street

The Day and the Time Wednesday at 8”20

The price  5

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime No and I did not get one

What was the type of gin It was well. The Well of Sorrow. The Well of Anger. The Well of Bad Taste.

What was the gin and tonic like Its like that old joke that was in a Woody Allen film. Two old ladies were at a restaurant eating the same meal. One of them said, “This meal is awful. Its disgusting, I wouldn’t serve this to my enemies. Its just plain bad.” And the second woman said, “Yes, and such small portions.” That’s how I felt about this mostly ice glass of supposed gin and tonic. It was really not a good drink, and then it was suddenly done.

The Joint This used to be several large Irish Bars and has been empty for several years. Its great that its being used. There is no parking around, so I don’t know how it will do, but its a large good looking place (still feels like an upscale Irish Restaurant, but that really isn’t such a bad thing). The bar is on one side of the room and there are plenty of TVs but only one keno screen. It was odd, during my stay there, a guy came over to where I was at the middle of the bar and gave the bartender his Keno slips and then went back to the table at the corner that was close to the Keno screen. He came back often to get more keno, like a migratory bird. Like a gambling addicted swallow returning to Capistrano.

For a Wednesday with much snow outside, there was a good amount of people. The bar had about 15 or so people eating, drinking, watching keno. There were three large circular tables filled with college age asian customers. My guess is that there were from one of the nearby schools. They were all enjoying the food and the company. I have eaten here at Shangri La when it was at its old location and I liked the food. It was good decent Chinese food and a friend has told me the sushi is excellent. The place gets a lot of business lunch traffic, which is nice to hear, because a place downtown is hard on a guy who has to park his car.

General Impressions Throughout my time drinking here I realized I was singing to myself. The whole time I was singing under my breath. No wonder no one wanted to sit near me. I had to listen to my own crooning to realize I was singing the Kinks’s song Shangri La. One of my favorites. You should go here and sing this song to. Here’s a link so that you will be ready when you get here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4DJ9YUYshE. Practice Practice Practice.

As a place to gather, its alright. There was a nice selection of people at the bar, different ethnicities and ages. It was all over the place and there is not a lot of joints that do that, so it went up in my estimation. The drink was lousy, but at least it was five bucks for the honor. And the food, from what I hear is still good.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back I can say probably yes. I have liked their food. But parking downtown,..sheesh. It is not my favorite Asian Restaurant bar on the tour, that would be Ken Chin’s, which is crazy. But this one is alright. Now sing it with me, “Now that you found your paradise/This is your Kingdom to command/You can go outside and polish your car/ Or sit by the fire, in you shangri la.”

Leave a Reply

