Primo’s Extension – #92 on the Tour

The Bar Primo’s Extension – Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a winner. We have no need to continue with the rally. The winner is in. The worst name for a bar in Worcester.

This is a complicated tale to tell. I have actually been here before for the tour when it was the bar for Center Bar and Grill and then it was sold to the Primo’s and the bar was called the District. The restaurant part is Primo’s, which used to be one of my favorite restaurants on Shrewsbury Street. I loved their risotto. Now, I debated putting it on the list of bars to go to. Thinking it might be  the same as it had been.So I crossed it off the list. And then, a few weeks ago they changed the name to Primo’s Extension. Primo’s Extension? Thank you Gods of Blogging! I wanted something easy to rag on, and thou provided in abundance to your supplicant Dante.

One bartender friend said, when he heard of the new name, “They’re not even trying.” I think that’s incorrect. I think they are trying. Trying hard. Trying long. Trying for that extra inch. Trying like an ad in a 1970’s men’s magazine, where the need for extension appeared to be tantamount. Come to Primo’s, we can take care of any inadequacy, at the Extension.

Or perhaps I am being too naughty. Maybe its an extension like you didn’t finish your final exam and you con the prof to give you an extension. Or an extension from the banks. There is so much this  Green place can be, and more!!!

Okay. I’m done. And I’m slightly sorry. But how could I resist. It’s called Primo’s Extension for god’s sake.

The Address oh wow, I still have the rest of my review to do. The address is 106 Green Street

The Day and the Time Friday at 9:15

The price 5

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime He asked, do you want a lime, a lemon, or both. And then I realized that it was the same bartender from when I came seven months ago when it was the Centre. Then he gave me a lime and lemon, which I called The Donnie and Marie, a little bit Country, a little bit rock n roll..

What was the type of gin Rot gut well

What was the gin and tonic like It was bad, but not bad bad. Just not particularly memorable.

The Joint It was a non descript bar. Nothing to recall to it. There were three loud girls at the bar. One was wearing a tiny sombrero (call Vogue, the next trend has been unearthed) and one very drunk guy who talked to the bartender for the length of my stay. They talked about DUIs (aways a nice bar conversation) and bartenders who sucked who are still working. I didn’t know how I felt about listening in on such talk. Who am I kidding? I live for this mishigoss.

General Impressions It was dead. I was happy to leave. I spoke highly of the bar when I was there the last time, when it was Centre, but this time just felt sad. But, I did see several dishes passing by to the dining area and they smelled amazing. Primo’s still got it, for the food part.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 Minutes

Will I come back Not to the Extension. But I do want to go to Primo’s, the ristorante. It smelled good and they were great back in Shrewsbury Street days.

Leave a Reply

