Industry – #93 on the Tour

The Bar Industry

The Address 109 Water Street

The Day and the Time  Friday at 9:45 (still too early it appears for the party to be partying)

The price  Six dollars.

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime  No and I didn’t get one

What was the type of gin Well

What was the gin and tonic like Surprisingly acceptable. It had a sweet taste to it that reminded me of the times me and my college roommate Tom would drink Booth’s gin and Sprite. Not that this Industry drink had Sprite in it, but there was a feeling of soft drink about it. I don’t know why. But it was an easy enjoyable libation, no matter what the ingredients were.

The Joint What you expect from a city dance club. There was a very long and very narrow joint. Two areas. The front for drinking and chatting. The back, for drinking and dancing. The only problem with this, there was no one present but  the staff and me.

General Impressions What the hell? Its like a Twilight Zone Episode. Or a 50s SciFi movie called the Last Drinker on Earth. Wherever I go, whenever I go. I am the only person there who wants to buy a drink. I wandered around, looking for Rod Serling who will pop up behind a wall and say, “For your edification we present a tourist drinker who thinks by going to every bar in the city he lives in he is being interesting and funny, but he will be greeted by empty bars and dancerless clubs. He thinks he’s having a gin and tonic in every bar in Worcester, but in fact he is having a plastic cup full of loneliness in the bar district of the Twilight Zone.”

Okay, in all seriousness. I know it was before ten, but just barely before. And still, no one about.

Amount of Time in the Joint 10 minutes

Will I come back In some ways, its better I came when it was empty. I don’t like dance clubs with blaring music. Its not the community I search for. So maybe I was given the best possible outcome. But I don’t know if I came too early or if no one came at all. There are people who want to dance and drink and hook up. This place looked like it could be alright. But man, almost 10 o’clock and tumbleweeds. To answer the next question. No. I will not be returning.

Leave a Reply

