Tatnuck Grille – #94 on the Tour

The Bar Tatnuck Grille

The Address 638 Chandler Street

The Day and the Time Friday at Four

The price 5.89

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She just put it in.

What was the type of gin She asked what I wanted, “Bombay, Bombay Saffire. Tanqueray.” I said no. Just the basic. She didn’t look at me as she headed to the gin bottle of shame.

What was the gin and tonic like It was a pretty weak drink, which was okay. Not a great drink, due to the lack of flavor, but it wasn’t terrible.

The Joint It’s a restaurant on one of its sides and a long bar on the other. The bar is bright and people are there for Keno. Its a real keno place. About ten people were there, drinking a little, but very intent on looking at the Keno Screen. Some of them talked amongst themselves, some of them were silent in their hope and contemplation. The decor is bland. If you like the company and the food, then that’s what might recommend the place. It had a very neighborhood type of feel. Not a dive bar, but a place where people living by Tatnuck Square can have affordable food and beer.

General Impressions The bartender was a comedian type of bartender. I haven’t seen too many of them, but they are memorable. These are the types of folk working behind the stick who feel that people are here for the show that is their personality. They are always on. In the ten minutes I was there, she happily berated several regulars, played air guitar, complimented a regular and got drinks. She was working hard for the money. So hard for the it honey. She is working hard for the money, I should hope that home somebody treats her right.

The first thing I noticed about the bartender-floor show was how she complimented a woman at the bar as being so funny. Just so funny. I was thinking, now we have to say, no, you’re the funny one. The woman who was told she was so funny got the appellation by saying her losing at Keno was her voluntary tax for Charlie Baker. She and the bartender did a little air guitar to the Kinks song playing on the radio, the great All Day and All Night guitar solo. An older gentleman returned from smoking and the bartender gave him some guff. He turned to me and said, “This is what I have to put up with here. She always is like that with me.” And I thought, and you love it buddy. It was a nice friendly enough place and I was ready to move on.

Amount of Time in the Joint 10 minutes

Will I come back I don’t think so. Nothing wrong with it. But its not that enticing to me. I like how the regulars can sit and josh about or be quiet, that the bar is long enough for all kinds. But still, I don’t think I need to return.

Leave a Reply

