Victory Bar and Cigar – #107 on the Tour

The Bar: Victory Bar and Cigar

The Address 56 Shrewsbury Street

The Day and the Time Sunday at 2pm. This was in the middle of a long weekend and the sun was out and people were gamboling along Shrewsbury Street. A lovely day to sneak into a dark cigar bar where sunlight is not allowed.

The price 7.25 (I believe, I was given a bunch of change and I think that’s what it came to)

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She just put it in.

What was the type of gin It was well

What was the gin and tonic like It was fine. I enjoyed it. It was a little weak, but that’s alright. You don’t need a hammer of a drink on such a nice day.

The Joint When I came in there were a few people at the bar. A few were watching the NHL Playoffs on TV, a couple was at the corner of the bar playing cards. I don’t know why, but I have a definite thing for people playing cards in bars. Or reading a book. Or both. I like that sense of calm, or relaxation that allows you to crack open a volume or shuffle a deck. It was in the middle of the day and the place was dark. Dark in the daytime, as David Byrne would say.  Two guys who worked there were cleaning the walls and the ceilings with rags, one proudly said they were getting ready for their big 11th anniversary party. He was jubilant, which is surprising to see in a cigar bar at Sunday at two, blame it on the beautiful day. It is small, but has a back room and big leather seats and dark wood that is well kept. It feels like a mens club from the fifties, which is pretty much what they were aiming for.

General Impressions The place reeks of cigarette and cigar. There aint no amount of cleaning or filtering will hide the fact that this is a joint for smoking. Drinking, sure, but I got such a strong ingrained tobacco odor. This can’t be a complaint, because its a cigar bar. The two guys were cleaning and cleaning, but I would think that it will be slightly in vein.

It looks like an old club and it feels like an old club. It does the part well. If I was a smoker, I could see myself hanging out, watching sports, talking with man friends about all the man things I might want to discuss in a manly tone of voice (is ballet an acceptable topic of conversation? Just checking. How about the intricacies of macrame?). The bartender and the employees were happy and helpful.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back I don’t think so. The non-smoker part of me precludes that. But out of the three cigar bars I have hit on the tour, this is the one I would like to go back to.

Leave a Reply

