Mahoney’s – #119 on the Tour

The Bar: Mahoney’s

The Address 413 Park Avenue

The Day and the Time Wednesday at 8:50

The price 5

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She asked and I got.

What was the type of gin Well

What was the gin and tonic like Flavorless, nothing special. IT was a five dollar neighborhood bar special.

The Joint Someone who reads this blog praised Mahoney’s in a comment. I love people having favorites and sharing them. It is a good sports?Irish bar with space for an elevated area for darts and table in the middle of the room and a clean demeanor. It has sports playing and keno going and really really really loud metal playing (damn I am getting old and persnickety) There were 25 or so people and it was not packed at all. The ages ranged from young to middle age and that’s nice. The staff were young. A good amount of staff on a Wednesday, about four people working. A lot of folk were out smoking. There was the Wednesday Dart League going and people were alternating between golf course quiet to rowdy shouting/

General Impressions This is a bah. The bartender was a young woman in a low cut t-shirt. It felt like this was the uniform for the female staff.  She was efficient, giving out drinks. While I was there for a few minutes, a lull occurred in the drinks demand and she leaned back and stood impassive, blank. She picked at a cuticle, she stood like a blackboard wiped of information. This statue pose and neutral expression went on for two or three minutes and then three guys came in. She saw them and like a switch put on the smile and an eye twinkle, rolled her shoulders back and went back to work in being the happy attractive bartender making me think of the line by T.S. Elliot, “There will be time, there will be time/To prepare a face to meet the faces that you meet.” That’s right, here at Mahoney’s in Worcester, we have the Lovesong of J. Alfred Prufrock with Cleavage.

A bah is a good thing. It was a social place and the drinks were not too pricey. It was a drinkers place, you could tell by the little plastic cups they filled with shots. I am sure there has been someone shouting Wooooooo here recently. Energetic and mostly young, this could be a place people might want to try.

I would have left this stop on the tour happier and more content if not for something right at the end. The dart match was won by the Mahoney’s team. They shouted and applauded and the losing team left to go outside. As they left, one of the Mahoney’s people (a guy drinking with the staff so he might be a friend or an employee I don’t know) looked at the retreating losing team and shouted at them “Pussies!” Yeah. Lovely. That just took a nice enjoyable bar moment and made it unpleasant. Making me think of a few more lines from Elliot. “We have lingered in the chambers of the sea/ With seagirls wreathed with seaweed red and brown/Till human voices wake us and we drown.” Yes, this is the crap floating through my head while I do this tour.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back I liked it, it was very bar. But the attitude I saw at the end, the neighborhood bar not my own feel makes me say that I will pass on this one. You might want to try it, but I am good with going this one time.

3 thoughts on “Mahoney’s – #119 on the Tour

  1. Hi Dante I’m so glad you got to Mahoney’s and you hit the nail on the head! Too bad you missed Deano behind ‘the stick’, but I think you got the vibe just right. That was a classic Mahoney’s moment.

  2. Hi Melissa
    I did recall your comment and was looking for a Deano like fellow, but did not see him. My loss I am sure. Though the young men coming in were happier, I think, with the woman bartender who greeted them. But that’s just my guess.

    Dante

Leave a Reply

