Kai – #120 on the Tour

The Bar: Kai Sushi Bar and Grill

The Address 68 Stafford Street

The Day and the Time Thursday at 1pm

The price 6.95

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She did

What was the type of gin Tanqueray

What was the gin and tonic like It was alright. Light and good. Not a bad a drink.

The Joint This is a strip mall sushi joint. The outside looks uninteresting. The interior is small, clean and has a nice look. There were only a few people in at that time. Three people at the bar, eating and drinking, and four women at a table talking as loud as if they were a convention. THe bartender was attentive and good. Solid with all that.

General Impressions: I had a day of no work and decided to go to a Lunch place. I heard an interview on NPR with Adam Gopnick (New Yorker writer) about how the Lunch as an entity is gone. That old line “Let’s do lunch.” is never heard anymore. That there was an industry supporting business lunches. Those high end New York lunch places are all closing or are gone. He said that the problem is that businesses like their workers to eat in the building or at their desk, so Lunch as a thing is no more. It was interesting but I felt that it might have to do with just New York lunch scene. SO I was interested to see if I could find a place that had businesses lunches going on. No luck. 111 Chop House doesn’t have lunch. And Ceres was empty so I didn’t want to try it (actually, this is the fourth time I have looked into Ceres and found it empty, what’s the deal with that joint?). On other parts of the tour, I have seen business lunches occurring like at Mezcal, but for the most part, people are getting a sandwich and moving on.

I was about to call the tour off for the day and try another time when I drove by Webster Square and noticed this place for the first time. I was annoyed because with me finding new places to go to, I will never be done with this tour, but happy that I can try someplace. I went in and it was drowsy but nice. The only business conversation I heard was two young women at the bar complaining about their lousy second shift jobs. One was trying to get the other drunk, to cheer her up. That’s nice and neighborly. I don’t know why she could be upset. She had  a nice dish of sushi and a large glass holding mixed drink goodness.

I had a drink. In a quiet place that seemed alright. So there.

Amount of Time in the Joint 10 minutes

Will I come back Lots of sushi bars to chose from in town, this one looked alright, but I don’t think I need to make a plan to go.

2 thoughts on “Kai – #120 on the Tour

  1. There are really 2 big “do lunch” places for business people in Wprcester: Volturno and Via. Two Italian places that start with V for Victory, I guess.

    1. Thanks Robber

      I didn’t know the do lunch places of worcester. Sadly, I have finished both of those from the tour, but its good to know that serious lunch in Worcester is spelled with a V

      Dante

Leave a Reply

