111 Chop House – #121 on the Tour

The Bar: 111 Chophouse

The Address 111 Shrewsbury Street

The Day and the Time Wednesday at 8:15

The price 7.50

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime He put in and it was nice glass.

What was the type of gin I don’t know what it was but it was decent one.

What was the gin and tonic like A well poured drink. I enjoyed sipping at it. It had flavor and it worked for me.

The Joint If you imagine a a high end steak house, this would be that thing in your head. Dark wood, large ceilings, Early 20th Century French Posters, photos of jazz musicians on the wall. The people working were in white shirts and wearing the garb of the traditional American steak house. The place was busy for Wednesday. A lot of the people had convention Expo badges still on. This is an expense account joint, and don’t you forget it. The bar was large. Three quarters of a square. Two bartenders were working. One bartender was really on it and was very good, the other one…..

General Impressions: ….the other bartender had a Cat who Swallowed the Canary smile. Someone at the bar knew him and asked him about the bartenders personal life. The bartender cracked jokes and talked to his acquaintance. And talked. And talked. The other bartender, who was very tall, started giving the other one, the talking shorter one, looks. After five minutes the tall bartender put his hand on the short bartender’s shoulder. The shorter bartender kept on talking and joking, not working, while the tall one was bustling to all parts of the bar. Finally the tall bartender flicked a bottle cap at the other one. The other felt it, look down, said good bye to his friend and then went back to pouring drinks. (I must say I was surprised to see anything other than professionalism and precision at this place. I aint talking about the bottle cap flick, but how the shorter one ignored everyone to jaw with a buddy. That’s a thing to see on a second rung sports bar.)

With that aside, the place was fancy and surprisingly, not forbidding. I felt smarter and cooler just hanging out there having my drink.

Amount of Time in the Joint 20 minutes

Will I come back You know, maybe. I can see situations where I want to sit down in a comfortable place for a drink and a conversation. This could work. I am not a steak house guy, so I don’t think the restaurant will be my place. But I liked this old school Chicago Steak House ambiance. They created it to be enticing and I am that sucker who it works on.

Leave a Reply

