Chuan Shabu Hot Pot Restaurant – #126 on the Tour

The Bar: Chuan Shabu

The Address 301 Park Avenue

The Day and the Time Thursday at 7pm

The price Nine bucks (one of the pricier ones)

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She put it in

What was the type of gin She gave me some choices and I think I picked a high end Tanqueray. I smiled and nodded and just agreed to what she said, like every good improv actor is trained to do.

What was the gin and tonic like It was a good solid drink, strong, but good.

The Joint This is an interesting place. It is a restaurant that focuses on hot pot cuisine where people put raw food into hot broth and then eat the results. Its a very participatory way to eat and this evening had four or so tables of people having a good time. This was not sedate eating and it seemed that the people at the table were having a good time.

The joint is clean and ultra modern in a mid twentieth century kind of way. The bar was handsome with lighted shelved for the drinks. The lights slowly changed colors. It was neat for my limited stay there but I could imagine that it could drive a fella to madness after a while. “The bar was green and then it was blue and then it was red. It was just what the squirrels told me would happen! The squirrels always know!”

General Impressions The bar had three other people there. One off duty fireman looking mopey. The bartender knew him and tried to joke with him about his job and other things and he just icey stared her. Another couple were drinking and eating and talking and talking. It seemed like a light night. This bar had a cool sophistication as does the rest of the place. I don’t know if it will find its audience, I hope it does because its different Its a clean, fun bar, but as it was, with more bar space than patron, it also felt sad and lonely.

Amount of Time in the Joint 10 minutes

Will I come back Maybe for trying the shabu hot pot, that seems fine, and the place does strike me as a nice looking place, nicer than most, but as a bar, not for me. Like I said, I hope people who want this bar finds it.

Leave a Reply

