Kyoto – #131 on the Tour

The Bar: Kyoto Bar and Grill

The Address 535 Lincoln Street

The Day and the Time Wednesday at 9:10

The price 6.96 (I would have paid the extra four cents just so I didn’t have to fuss with the pennies. Sheesh. Really? Just take the pennies. Please)

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime He didn’t. But still, when the drink came, there was a lime.

What was the type of gin I saw him pick up the bottle and I gasped quietly. It was Gilberts. The enemy of this blog. Gilberts. The evil empire of bad gin. Hello old friend. I see you have made yourself at home at this hibachi joint. Well, so be it.

What was the gin and tonic like It was a drink. Not a good drink, but when you have poor ingredients, what can you expect. It was a nice enough place so the drinking of it was not at all arduous. It just wasn’t a good drink.

The Joint This is a local sushi and hibachi joint that is surrounded by chain restaurants. I didn’t even have it on my list, I figured for something that rubs shoulders with Ruby Tuesdays and Texas Roadhouse, that it must be a chain joint. It’s a good looking, typical hibachi place. I got there late so none of the tables were filled. It has a oval bar and it was presentable. Okay, I am near the end of the tour and this feels like a lot of other hibachi-sushi joints I have been to. There is nothing wrong with it, but the staff need to be dressed as clowns for me to notice anything unique about it.

General Impressions At the bar at this off hour, there were three couples drinking and talking at the bar (and me, I was the outlier, the eavesdropper in ointment. Is this the kind of place where young people go for dates in the middle of the week? Do they crave pseudo asian drinks to help lubricate a first date? On listening as much as I could, I did notice that on these three instances of coupled people, the women were doing all the talking. Can I learn something from this observation? Absolutely not. Just thought I would share something I noticed. One of the couples were loud and swearing. Another was dropping a lot of Dr Who comments and pop culture lingua franca. The last couple were just talking. People they know, things that happened to them recently. I don’t know if these were established couples or if we had a passel of first dates. I was more odd man out than i usually was, which is saying some.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back No. Nothing off or unpleasant. It was just a place with a bar.

Leave a Reply

