Stakes Sports Pub – #132 on the Tour

The Bar: Stakes

The Address 1281 Pleasant Street

The Day and the Time Thursday at 8

The price 5.50

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime He asked and I got

What was the type of gin It was a well gin.

What was the gin and tonic like Ah, what you need to do to be a completist. There are a lot of fair to middling gin and tonics out there and I seem to be getting my fair share of them. It was a little flat and the poor gin didn’t help.

The Joint I guess you can get a sense of deja vu when you go into enough neighborhood bars. There is the long bar on the back wall. I’ve seen that. There is the pool table. The dart board. The KENO screen.  I’ve seen that too. There is the worn non descript carpet. The serviceable chairs and stools. “Baby, I’ve been here before. I know this room. I’ve walked this floor.” Oh my god, I’ve stumbled into a Leonard Cohen song!

The place was fine. It had three people drinking and talking and watching the slow decline of the Red Sox, as it always is. It felt empty.

General Impressions The older woman came in and said, “Where is everybody. It’s empty. Where are all the folk.” The bartender said, “It’s Thursday. We get people for Karaoke on Friday and Darts on Wednesday. You know that.” She got her bottle of white wine that she then put half into a glass and talked to a regular. Even paid for his next beer. She talked loudly about how great it is when people are here. She likes the Karaoke. She’s a big one for the Karaoke.” She went on talking until she faded into the background buzz like the TV and the jukebox.

The bartender was friendly and confirmed that it is a lazy place except for Wednesday darts and for that crazy Japanese singing craze that happens on every other Friday.

There is nothing wrong with the place, but I have to wonder how a bar like this stays afloat. That’s one of the things I don’t get. how to get people to come and stay. Maybe its a little too much like every other bar, I don’t know. It was alright enough.

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back No.

Leave a Reply

