Rocky’s Sport Bar – #136 on the Tour

The Bar: Rocky’s – this was the location where Grey Hound Pub was. This is now owned by a guy who used to be a state representative but resigned, which stopped the investigation against him (which is nice for him) now he is a publican and who doesn’t want to go from politician to booze slinger?

The Address 139 Water Street

The Day and the Time Friday at nine

The price 5.50

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She just put it in, how nice, how politic.

What was the type of gin It was a vile well gin that was distilled on the banks of Chernobyl.

What was the gin and tonic like It was bad. But what I am to expect. I should be more positive about my prospects, I should give it some Beacon Hill spin, so instead I will say that this gin and tonic has potential, it has will to improve, it is a striver, and who can ask for more than that? (actually, I can ask for more than that, but who am I, just a tourist really.)

The Joint It is an improvement over the Grey Hound Pub decor. It doesn’t feel like some football fiend’s man cave slash parent’s garage. The place is open and the wall was taken out to have alfresco dining. It had sports on because everything in Worcester must consider themselves a sports bar. Let me just go on the record here and say that I believe if you are projecting at ear bleeding levels the Rod Stewart dittie “Forever Young” you are not a sports bar, you are something else.

There was a score of people there, all older, except for a few at the bar who seemed to be related to the owner and they were grumpy looking. The older crowd all seemed to know each other.

General Impressions I was a true outsider here and it was obvious I was not part of the usual group of cronies, I mean friends, and I stuck out so much to the point that the owner came over and introduced himself to me and said he was the owner and shook my hand while searching the environs for any baby to kiss. I must tell you, I have never had the owner of a bar introduce themselves to me when I came in during this whole tour. It was odd and made me want to split fast.

The crowd were all friends and some seemed bored. The music blared disco and the bartender turned down the volume but the owner spoke to her and the volume went back up to Spinal Tap This One Goes to  Eleven levels. No one was dancing and the owner went over to his buddies at the tables and spoke to them and entreated and they all went up to dance, sort of. This act reminded me of nothing but that scene in Jaws where the Mayor of Amity noticed that no one was swimming on the Fourth of July so he went to his constituents and got them to reluctantly enter the possibly shark plagued water. That’s what this looked like. Instead of an ominous John Williams score, we had the very loud stylings of ABBA (its hard to decide which is more frightening).

Amount of Time in the Joint 15 minutes

Will I come back My vote goes to No.

Leave a Reply

