Mare e Monti – #142 on the Tour

The Bar: Mare E Monti

The Address 19 Wall Street

The Day and the Time Friday at 8:25

The price 6.50

Did they ask me if I wanted a lime She did, with professionalism and grace.

What was the type of gin well

What was the gin and tonic like A nice simple drink. Nothing wrong with it.

The Joint: I had not gone here because I was under the impression that this was a BYOB joint. But driving by on my way to Vincent’s, I saw a bar through the door. I parked and went in. The lobby could fit a lot of people waiting for tables and the bar had about eight or ten stools. This was a classic Italian joint where people drank in the lobby waiting to get into the dining room. There were quite a few people waiting, but it was not a hardship it seemed. The bartenders were fast and friendly and there was space in the room, which is nice.

General Impressions Amid the bustle and anticipation of the couples and and families and first dates, waiting for their tables, there were two people sitting at the bar by themselves. Both stared ahead or at the their phones until their food arrived and then the focus could be on that, One was a woman, the other a man, both in their late thirties or early forties. Were they stood up? Were they stuck in Worcester for business? Did they just want a nice meal and no hassle of rustling up a dining companion?  As I stood in the lobby area, sipping my drink, I imagined that they would look up from their pasta dishes and see each other. Recognize something familiar in each others solitary dining and move to sit next to one another without saying a word. I could imagine the plates touching. Smiles exchanged, loneliness in a public setting for once defeated. Yeah. I think a lot while drinking my gin and tonics. Maybe they were happy eating alone, maybe my daydreams were as half baked as most of my ideas. Stop thinking, Dante, and finish that drink.

Amount of Time in the Joint 20 minutes

Will I come back I can see going there for dinner. It looked good. A nice location. Why not?

The Last Bar on the Tour: You can join me for the last gin and tonic at Nick’s on Millbury Street 7PM 9/27/15 which is a Sunday.

Leave a Reply

